School Governors


The Governing Body of Spen Valley High School work alongside the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to enhance the quality of education and the opportunities available to our students. Governors provide both support and challenge to Senior Leadership in order to drive continued improvement across all areas of the school, particularly focusing on on outcomes for all our students - both academically and social and emotionally.

We hold full governors meetings with focused agendas rather than breaking our Governing Body into Committees.

Our Governors 

Mr Simon Kelly Chair of Governing Body 
Ms Christine Butler Trust Foundation Governor/Vice Chair (Responsibility for Safeguarding)
Mr Faisal Ajmal Co-opted Governor 
Ms Hayley Clacy  Headteacher 
Mrs Maxine Dunne Co-opted Governor 
Mr Murray Forrest Co-opted Governor
Mr Max Rathmell Co-opted Governor 
Mr Jon Walker  Parent Governor

For further information regarding our School Governors:

  • business interests
  • financial interests
  • governance roles in other schools
  • responsibilities
  • Term of office

Please click on the link below:

Governing Body Information

Click here to view the Governing Body Meeting Minutes:




For more information on the role of a Governor please see the National Governance Association website